Society of Camera Operators Announces Nominees for Camera Operator of the Year, Film and Television


Last year’s Camera Operator of the Year (Television) recipient Andrew Mitchell, SOC for ‘The People v. OJ Simpson: American Crime Story’

Los Angeles, CA  — The Society of Camera Operators (SOC) announces the honorees of the Lifetime Achievement AwardsCamera Operator of the Year for both the film and television categories.  The recipients will be announced at the February 3, 2018 Awards hosted at the Loews Hollywood Hotel.

Camera Operator of the Year – Film Nominees:

  • Colin Anderson, SOC – The Phantom Thread 
  • Roberto De Angelis, SOC – Baby Driver 
  • Stephen Campanelli, SOC – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri 
  • Gilles Corbeil, SOC – The Shape of Water
  • Mitch Dubin, SOC – The Post

Camera Operator of the Year – Television Nominees:

  • Bob Gorelick, SOC – Stranger Things
  • Daryl Hartwell – Fargo
  • Gary Jay, SOC – House of Cards
  • Brian Osmond – Mindhunter
  • Ben Semanoff, SOC – Ozark

Last year’s Camera Operator of the Year (Film) recipient: Ari Robbins, SOC for ‘La La Land’

The Camera Operator of the Year voting is open to all Active SOC members in good standing until January 23, 2018.  Last year’s recipients were Film – Arri Robbins, SOC for LA LA Land, and Television – Andrew Mitchell, SOC for The People v. OJ Simpson: American Crime Story.

The Society will be announcing the Presidents award shortly.  For further information about the SOC’s Lifetime Achievement Awards and to purchase your

The SOC Lifetime Achievement Awards, red carpet show and live stream broadcast are produced and directed by, Matthew Skurow, Principal & Executive Producer of Miraculi Entertainment.

About the SOC
The Society of Camera Operators (SOC) advances the art, craft, and creative contributions of the Camera Operator.

The SOC is an internationally recognized professional honorary society. The core activities of the Society are the annual SOC Awards, publishing the Society’s magazine Camera Operator and our charitable commitment to The Vision Center at Children’s Hospital Los Angeles.


Leave A Reply